It has three main divisions based on regional styles of archery and different construction of the Mongolian bows. Khalkh style is the tradition of the people of the central part of Mongolia. Another style is Buryat practiced by the people of the northern eastern region of our country. There is also Uriankhai style which represents the Western Mongolian people.
The targets and distances are varying. In the Buryat style archers shoot at 35 meters, in the Uriankhai at 45 meters and in the Khalkh style at 75 meters. Buryat and Khalkh archery have many women competitors.

Uriankhai archers are by tradition men. Each of the traditions has a special style of singing which is used by the scorer to indicate the score of each competitor. The umpires tell from a distance how our shooting is progressing.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s